First Week at The MTC

December 11, 2014

Hola Mi Amigos! I’ve made it through my first week at the Missionary Training Center down in Provo. This first week has been great, but also extremely hard. My favorite part so far has been the people. All of the missionaries that I’ve been able to work with and meet have been amazing. My companion’s name is Hermana(Sister) Woolf and she is wonderful. She is super nice and super prepared to be a missionary. She keeps me going when times get tough. We are also both going to Posadas so I will probably be seeing her even more in the mission field:) Her and me share a room with two other Hermanas and the four of us plus three Elders make up our District and we do everything together. They are all super great and even though I’ve only been here a week I feel like I’ve been with them for months. The MTC has kept us super busy down here. As one of my companions said, the days feel like weeks, and the weeks feel like days. Soon enough I’ll be in Argentina and I can’t wait. The spanish has been another story completely. I’m not going to lie, it’s been super hard. On day three we started teaching our first mock investigator about the gospel and it had to be completely in spanish. Surprisingly we were actually able to have a pretty good lesson, despite our limited vocab. That is surely a miracle from God:) We’ve been teaching him every day since then and slowly making progress with both him and with the language.
The hardest part for me is that I want to know how to say everything right now. I feel like I’m not learning fast enough. It’s frustrating some times but I’m actually really grateful to be able to learn another language for my mission. Sometimes in our weakest moments we are the strongest because that’s when we have to get down on our knees and ask God for his help. I’m so grateful to be able to share something that is so important to me and I can’t wait to get to know and learn to love the people in Argentina and Paraguay.
I love all of you guys and wish you the best back home. Let me know if you have any questions for me and I’ll try to respond, time is limited, but I’ll do my best:)
Hermana Marvian

Leave a Reply

