Went to the Ruins this Week

Monday, June 15, 2015
//

Hey Everybody,

So this week has been pretty good. We`ve been working super hard and contacting alot of people this week. We`ve also been working with a lot of less-actives this week, trying to help them come back to church, while also asking for references of people we might teach. To be honest it`s been pretty tough in this area down here in the big city. I`m pretty sure I`ve talked to more people in the last couple of weeks then I have in the entire 4 and a half months I was in Pilar, yet I feel like we never have any progressing investigators…but, it`s still been pretty good and I still feel like I`ve helped alot of people this week, even if they all say they`re catholic and don`t want to talk to us. In fact we did have one experience the other day where we felt like we needed to work in one of our areas that we don`t usually go in very much, but the other day we decided to try to contact and find people to teach. So as we went about, clapping at doors, we came across this one lady that as soon as we started talking to her she just broke down and started crying…I still don`t know what exactly happened with her, but we just talked to her for a while and told her how much God loved her and how everything was going to be ok. I`m not sure what happened with her after that, but I do think that God is always guiding his missionaries to people that need them, or the people are guided to the missionaries. It`s true that it`s been hard in this area to get people coming to church and keeping commitments, but if nothing else we can still help people because after all being a missionary also means taking upon the name of Christ, literally, and that means helping people whereever we go, even if that just means listening, or making someone laugh.

Other than that, I was able to go on divisions again this week which went super awesome. I got to work with a new missionary that just got here a couple of weeks ago and it was super fun. She doesn`t speak that much spanish and times have been difficult for her, but it was great to be able to spend the day with her and encourage her, help her, and also learn alot from her. I forgot how much passion new missionaries have, and even though the language is hard for them, the spirit is always stronger in the lessons, because they have to rely more on God to help them. Sometimes I forget what that`s like, but working with Hermana Nilson this week really reminded me of that.

Also, this last week we got to go to the Zoo that we found on the other side of the city, it was actually pretty cool. I`m still waiting for the photos that one of the other missionaries is going to send me because I forgot my camera, but when I get them, I`ll send them. I also have those photos of the temple that I still have to send, but…I forgot my cable so I guess I`ll be sending those next week. I also have photos of today too. Today we got to go to the ruins that are about an hour away from here in Trinidad. It was super cool, I love stuff like that and it was cool to learn about the history, and also to get away from the city for awhile. I like my area here, but I miss the tranqulidad of the countryside more. But anyway, I`ll try to send those photos next week too. But I hope everyone is doing well. See you all, next week

Hermana Marvian

Leave a Reply

